My New Found Hobby

19/02/2013 22:30

As adventure lovers, we love to be in the wild. We love to be close to Mother Nature. We love to interact with wild lives, floras and faunas. I have recently found out that one other hobby of mine is nature trailing. 5 days a week, day in and day out, I am sitting behind the office desk. I found going back to nature is one effective way to release all my steam. As a new adventure lover, I'm not yet clear what kind of specific outdoor activities I love the most.

I've tried cycling, the cheapest and easiest form of outdoor adventure to pick up. I've been on three biking trails and I seem to be enjoying it each time. But I'm not yet sure if this is the one and only form of outdoor activity that I am suitable for. I've been on a fly fishing trip and I found the experience fascinating. While it seems like a simple task, there is so much you need to understand if you want your fly fishing trip to end up in no futile. Thanks to a buddy of mine who happens to know a thing or two about fly fishing. I've picked up few simple basics about fly fishing and I'm looking forward to my next trip with him.
 
While starting out with my new found hobby, I found that there are few important information that we need to have on our finger tips. Compass is definitely a must have. I know GPS navigation system is common nowadays, but there are always occassions when you find having a compass to tell you the North-South-East-West direction is very useful. Another thing is when you are out on the wild, you might not even have access to a GPS navigation system. You may argue that a phone is always by our side these days. If you have the kind of thinking, it shows how little you have been on the wild or maybe, you are not a really ardent adventure seekers.
 
Casio Pathfinder watches
 
When you set out on an outdoor adventure, you might not even have access to electricity. You may carry a spare battery extension for your phone, but for how long will it last? And for me personally, I love to switch my phone off when I'm out in the wild. I just want to enjoy every moment without being interrupted. That is when you would find a watch to be the your best assistant.
 
I did a little research on what kind of watches are specifically designed for adventure seekers. There are a number of them, but I eventually settle with Casio and its Casio Pathfinder or Casio ProTrek series. Casio Pathfinder watches are fantastic because they come with 3 types of sensors, all in a single wrist watch. You get an Altimeter, Barometer and Compass sensors in a single tiny device that you can attach on your wrist.
 
Initially, I was a little confused about the naming. I was wondering how Casio Pathfinder differs from Protrek. After some further reading, I found the two to be of the same thing. I tried to find the ladies collection of Casio pathfinder watches but eventually gave up. It seems that there is none. In the end, I decided to go with the PAG80-1V model. While it does not look feminine at all, it is what I considered to be the most feminine of all the Casio pathfinder watches on sale out there.
 
That's it. I've just added a new watch into my watch gallery :). Wish me luck in discovering my next life obssession.